Minneapolis Car Accident Lawyer
Victims of car accidents can suffer severe injuries that may never fully heal, while expenses from medical procedures and therapy can create a significant burden for victims and their families. At TSR Injury Law, our Minneapolis car accident lawyers have experience successfully handling auto accident cases including a $600,000 settlement for a man who suffered a traumatic brain injury in a rear-end accident and a $350,000 recovery for a passenger that was paralyzed in a collision.
If you have been injured in a collision that was caused by another motorist, contact us today for a free consultation to discuss your claim with a licensed attorney. We are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week and there are no upfront fees or costs if we take on your case.
Call (612) TSR-TIME for your free consultation.
Can I File a Claim?
The financial costs associated with auto accidents are often settled via insurance claims. In Minnesota, car accident victims can file a claim against the personal injury protection in their own car insurance policies, no matter who was at fault for the accident.
However, pursuing an insurance claim on your own can be overwhelming and time consuming for many accident victims. Insurance companies are working against the best interests of plaintiffs and will often attempt to settle a claim by offering a settlement amount that may be significantly lower compared to what may be awarded from a lawsuit.
Accident victims cannot file lawsuits to recover compensation unless their accident resulted in one of the following:
- $4,000 in medical bills
- Disability, permanent injury or permanent disfigurement lasting at least 60 days
In a lawsuit, the accident victim and his or her attorney has the responsibility of proving the accident was the result of another driver’s negligence. There are four elements of negligence that must be proven when pursuing car accident compensation:
- Existence of a duty of care – Our attorneys need to establish the at-fault driver had a responsibility under the law to take reasonable steps to prevent you from getting hurt.
- Breach of duty of care – The at-fault party did not uphold the required duty of care.
- Link between breach and your injury – This means the injury would not have happened unless the breach of duty of care occurred.
- Existence of damages – You need to show your injuries created damages, such as medical expenses and emotional damages.
Minnesota’s comparative fault law allows injury victims to pursue a lawsuit against anyone who is less at fault than they were. You cannot pursue compensation from someone who is less at fault than you. The law also says any compensation victims receive will be reduced according to their percentage of fault.
However, as each car accident is unique, we recommend contacting our Minneapolis car accident lawyers to discuss your specific collision and determine if you have a valid case.
Need some help? Call us today at (612) TSR-TIME.
What is the Value of My Case?
The value of a car accident case depends on many factors, including:
- The damages suffered
- The severity of the injuries
- How long they may affect the victim
Often, the more severe an accident victim’s injuries are, the more his or her claim is worth.
There are a variety of damages that may be involved in car a accident claim, and they can be divided into economic and non-economic damages.
These are the damages that have a specific value attached to them, such as medical bills for things like:
- Prescription medicine
- Medical testing
- Medical equipment, like wheelchairs or crutches
- Appointments with doctors
- Physical therapy
- Mileage during your treatment
Other types of economic damages may include:
- Lost wages from missed time at work
- Loss of earning capacity
- Property damage, such as damage to your vehicle in the crash
These are also called general damages, and they are the physical and emotional effects of your injuries. Non-economic damages might include:
- Physical pain or discomfort
- Emotional issues (stress, anxiety, depression, post-traumatic stress, etc.)
- Loss of companionship
Unlike some other states, Minnesota does not place any caps on personal injury compensation. If you have a case and we represent you, we are prepared to pursue the full value of your damages.
We are here to discuss the value of your claim in a free, confidential legal consultation. After discussing your accident with us, we will be able to advise you of legal options that may be open to you.
What if the Other Driver Does Not Have Insurance?
If the other driver does not have insurance, or does not have enough to cover your damages, you may be able to pursue compensation from the uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage in your own insurance policy.
However, these kinds of claims can be complicated as there are certain requirements that must be met. Our licensed Minneapolis car accident attorneys can explain these requirements during a free consultation.
Have Questions? Call (612) TSR-TIME.
Can an Auto Accident Attorney Help Me?
There are many benefits to having our attorneys represent your car accident injury claim. Primarily, cases that are handled by an accident attorney result in higher compensation recoveries compared to those where the plaintiff does not have legal representation.
Our lawyers also have extensive knowledge of state laws that affect car accident claims, including Minnesota’s no-fault car insurance system. In this state, accident victims can pursue compensation from the personal injury protection (PIP) coverage in their own insurance policy, no matter who is at fault for the accident.
PIP applies to the following kinds of damages from a car accident:
- Medical expenses
- Lost wages
- Replacement services (this could include the cost to hire a housekeeper because the victim cannot do chores around the house)
- Up to $2,000 in funeral expenses if the victim died in the crash
Minnesota requires all drivers to purchase a minimum amount of PIP coverage: $40,000 per person, per accident, which includes $20,000 for medical bills and another $20,000 for lost wages and replacement services.
If you have a case, our Minneapolis car accident attorneys may also be able to pursue compensation from the other driver’s liability coverage, if your damages are worth more than your PIP coverage. Minnesota requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage for other drivers’ damages when an accident is your fault, including:
- $30,000 for injuries to one individual
- $60,000 total for injuries to two or more people
- $10,000 to cover damage to the other driver’s vehicle
If you are unsure of you have a case, we welcome an opportunity to help find answers to any questions you may have regarding a potential lawsuit.
TSR Injury Law - Ph: (612) TSR-TIME.
Is There a Deadline for Filing a Case?
Generally, there is a two-year statute of limitations for Minnesota personal injury cases, including car accident claims (Minnesota Statutes 541.07). If you attempt to file a claim after two years pass, it may not be accepted.
It is important to note there are some exceptions to this two-year deadline. For example, if you are filing a wrongful death claim on behalf of a loved one who died in a car accident, the statute of limitations is three years from the date of death.
If the at-fault driver leaves the state before a claim can be filed, the time he or she is out of state will not be counted against the statute of limitations (Minnesota Statutes 541.13). This means you might have longer than two years from the date of the accident to pursue a claim.
There are also exceptions when claims need to be started much sooner. For example, if you were injured in a car accident with a government vehicle, you must provide notice of your claim within 180 days of the accident.
Since each case is unique, we recommend contacting our licensed attorneys so we can determine if your claim falls under an exception to the statute of limitations.
If you have legal questions, call us today. (612) TSR-TIME.
What Do I Do If an Insurance Company Calls Me?
After an accident, car insurance companies like to contact victims in an effort to settle the claim for the lowest possible financial amount.
It's important to note that the insurance company may use any information &/or statements that you provide to discredit your claim. If you are unable to prove that they are incorrect, the amount of compensation that may be available may be significantly reduced.
Having a qualified attorney to deal with the insurance companies on your behalf can help to ensure that your interests are protected. If the insurance provider asks for a recorded statement, you are not legally required to provide one. Our knowledgeable Minneapolis auto accident lawyers can advise you on when to provide a recorded statement and what to include in it to protect your claim.
Are There Things I Can Do to Strengthen My Claim?
Our trusted legal team is here to handle all aspects of your injury claim, if you have a case and choose to be represented by our firm. However, if you are able, there are some things you can do help protect your potential claim.
Get Out of Harm’s Way
If your injuries permit and it is safe to do so, move your car away from traffic and onto the shoulder or side of the road. This can lower the risk of another collision with a passing vehicle. Turn on your hazard lights to warn passing cars.
If you are seriously injured, it is better to just stay put until first responders arrive at the scene.
Call the Police Right Away
Report the accident to the police by calling 9-1-1. Once the police arrive at the scene, they can assess the scene and file a report that may be a very important piece of evidence in your injury claim.
While it is a good idea to report the accident, in some situations it is against the law not to do so. Under state law, every driver involved in a crash that causes injury, death or $1,000 or more in property damage must file a crash report with the Minnesota Department of Public Safety within 10 days of the accident. If you are required to file a report and you do not, you could have your license suspended.
If you are physically able to do so, try to take pictures of the scene. This includes pictures of the vehicles involved, debris, damage to the road, skid marks, and anything else you think may be relevant.
Take pictures of any of your visible injuries as well. This may help link your injuries to the accident.
Talk to Witnesses
If there are any witnesses, ask them what happened. You can either write down what they say or ask their permission to record their comments. Make sure to ask them for contact information so your attorney can contact them in the future.
Get Medical Treatment
It is recommended that you always seek medical treatment after a car accident. You may have injuries you are not aware of.
It is also important to have medical documentation of the injuries you suffered in the accident. Linking your injuries to the accident is an important part of the legal process. Make sure you tell the doctor how you were injured and describe any symptoms you are experiencing.
Hire a Qualified Attorney
The Minneapolis car accident lawyers at TSR Injury Law have a history of obtaining fair compensation for victims of car accidents caused by negligence. We have in-depth knowledge of laws affecting these claims, how to negotiate with insurance companies, and how to determine a fair value for a victim’s damages.
Why Car Accidents Happen
Many car accidents are the result of driver negligence. There are many different examples of negligent behavior that can lead to accidents that cause injuries, including:
- Texting while driving
- Following other vehicles too closely
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Driving while drowsy
- Disobeying right-of-way laws
- Driving the wrong way
- Running a red light
- Failing to stop at a stop sign
These and other forms of negligence can lead to dangerous accidents, such as:
- Rear-end accidents
- Left-turn collisions
- Head-on collisions
- T-bone crashes
- Accidents in parking lots
Feel free to contact us today to discuss the specifics of your accident and possible legal options.
Types of Auto Accident Injuries
Injuries from car accidents can affect victims for a long time, maybe even the rest of their lives. Some of the injuries we often see from these accidents include:
- Broken bones
- Back injuries
- Spinal cord injuries, such as paralysis
- Brain injuries
- Internal organ damage
Another injury that accident victims may face is a trimelleolar fracture. Trimalleolar fractures frequently happen in a motor vehicle accident when the driver or passenger braces for impact. They occur in slip and fall accidents, too. A trimalleolar fracture involves three bone surfaces:
- Lateral malleolus (end of the fibula)
- Medial malleolus (end of medial tibia)
- Posterior malleolus (distal tibia)
A trimalleolar fracture can have further complications, including:
- Bone infection
- Nerve damage
- Blood vessel damage
Treatment for this type of broken ankle may include surgery. Frequently screws and pins will have to be used to align and stabilize the ankle. After surgery, you can expect to wear a non-weight bearing cast for 6-8 weeks. The recovery process can be long and difficult, leaving the ankle prone to pain, stiffness, and arthritis.
After suffering an injury in a car crash, it is important to review the situation with a licensed attorney to determine if you may be eligible to pursue compensation. We have recovered fair compensation for numerous car accident victims and multiple attorneys at our firm have been voted in the top five percent of attorneys in the state by Super Lawyers.
Contact a Minneapolis Car Accident Lawyer
It can be very difficult to recover compensation without the help of a qualified attorney. The team at TSR Injury Law have decades of combined experience dealing with car insurance companies and obtaining fair compensation for our clients.
If we determine you have a case and you choose to move forward with our firm, we can handle the entire legal process on your behalf.
An initial consultation with our firm is free and there is no obligation to take legal action. There are no upfront attorney’s fees or costs and we do not get paid unless we are able to obtain compensation for you.
Our office is located at 7760 France Ave South Suite 820 in Minneapolis, just a 20-minute drive from the Hennepin County Courthouse. If your injury prevents you from being able to come to us, we can come to you.