My Tag was Expired at the Time of the Crash. Can I Still File a Claim?
When policyholders file a claim after a crash, car insurance companies will look for any reason to accuse them of negligence. They may even refer to things that have nothing to do with the cause of the crash, such as your driver’s license status, a front headlight being out on a rear end crash or an expired tag.
Insurance companies are hoping crash victims will take their word for it about their role in the crash and accept whatever lowball offer of compensation they make. Crash victims are often desperate for compensation and unsure of the value of their claim.
Below, learn more about what effect, if any, an expired tag may have on a car crash claim. We also discuss Minnesota regulations on renewing vehicle tags and penalties for failing to do so.
If you have questions after suffering an injury in a car crash, give us a call to schedule a free initial consultation. We have helped many crash victims recover compensation to help them move forward with their lives.
Expired Tags and Car Crashes
An expired tag has nothing to do with what caused a crash to happen. Most crashes are caused by one driver’s negligent actions, such as speeding, tailgating, distracted driving or drunk driving. While it is careless to forget to renew your tag, it does not mean you are to blame for the crash.
You are likely to be cited by police when they arrive at the scene. However, citations or tickets for things that had no bearing on the crash should not affect your claim for compensation. If you were cited for reckless driving or violating the rules of the road, that may affect your claim.
It is important to note Minnesota is a no-fault state, which means fault plays no role in pursuing a claim against the personal injury protection coverage for medical bills and wage loss. That is not to say fault plays no role in a claim – if you are injured and want to pursue a bodily injury claim, you will pursue compensation from the other driver’s insurance coverage and fault does factor into that.
You should take anything the insurance company says with a grain of salt and strongly consider discussing things with a licensed attorney. You do not need to say much to the insurance company, and if you are not cautious, you could say something that hurts your claim.
Minnesota Regulations on Tag Renewal
In Minnesota, you have until the last day of the month your tag expires to pay to renew it. You must display the new sticker within the 10th day of the next month.
Penalties for Failing to Renew Your Vehicle Registration
The fee for failing to renew your vehicle registration in time is four or five times the fee to renew. That means you could end up paying a fine of somewhere between $125 and $225. If you do not pay the fine, a warrant could be put out for your arrest. If you get stopped because of an expired tag and the police discover such a warrant, you could be placed under arrest and your vehicle could be impounded.
The last thing you want to have to deal with after a crash is your vehicle being impounded and you being placed under arrest.
Have You Been Injured in a Crash? TSR Injury Law may be able to Help
There are many benefits to meeting with an experienced Minneapolis-based auto accident lawyer after a crash. Learn more by calling TSR Injury Law to set up a free, no-obligation legal consultation. This is an opportunity to learn how we may be able to assist you during this difficult time.
No upfront fees or obligations. Call TSR today: (612) TSR-TIME.